Month: March 2013

  • Disneyland :)

    We went to Disneyland on Monday 03-18-13. It was the first time my son had an opportunity to go.  

    pics are kind of backward…Oops!! 

    Johnson was by himself in the Buzzlight Year ride… :(
    My son and I took on the aliens together! 
    My son’s first time button! =D 
    Our Expensive hats… too expensive but the memories!! 
    Theirs are in cursive because it was the cheaper engrave-ment = $3… Mine was $7 because they said that my hat was thicker… Talk about rip-offs. 
    This was at the end of the night right before we were about to leave. Look at my honey’s poor right eye! 
    I gave him pink eye, which I had the week before. :( But, he still looks handsome!! =D 
    My son looks happy here. You know why? He was just given this bubble machine. And for free… We had just bought him his hat and he was pouty because he was falling asleep in line  waiting for the roger rabbit ride. And he was tired and bored. He hated the lines and made sure we knew every second. When we were about to pay for hat he told the  cashier that he was unhappy because we wouldn’t let him get everything he wanted. If only that place wasn’t so expensive. 
    Picture is a little blurry but it’s one of my favorites. We were in line waiting for “It’s a small World” ride. 
    My feet were tired and we finally sat down for a couple minutes. That in the red is my brother Orland and the girl is his girlfriend. They happen to go on the same day we were there. It was my brother’s last day of leave before he went back to the Marines. He had just finished bootcamp. 
    Many beautiful places there! =D 
    The moment we walked into the park! =D 
    This was part of our lovely trip. It was very very exhausting but it was an eye opener for my son. He knew he wouldn’t get his way the way he wanted the whole time. He wants to go again and I would to take him again but I don’t know if I can handle taking him again unless a little friend goes or he’s more patient.
    Frankly I wouldn’t mind going back just myself and Johnson. We would be able to get on all the rides we want. 
    I don’t know. We will see what happens in the near future. To begin with Disneyland is so expensive. I wish it was more affordable. But, maybe one day I’ll have nice income to afford the luxury. Someday, I hope. 
  • I understand my parents now.

     

     

     (istockphoto)

    As I deal with my more and more, I understand why my mother and father would do what they did for me and my siblings. I know back in the day parents were a lot more strict and I know I’m a little strict but not as bad they were. Even though now, sometimes I wished I was. 

    With today’s way of living, I can handle an “I hate you” many times over and its because I love my son that much. He’s said it a few times and believe me you those first few time it hurt my feelings. I couldn’t believe that what I was doing to protect him made him so upset he would yell at me that he  hated me. 

    Never would have said that to my parents myself, I would have been beaten. Lol Not beaten in an abuse way but in an you better understand or you’ll get more of this. And I understood. Sure sometimes I was a little scared but would still do what I wanted as a child. 

    Now that I’m not a child I see things in a different light. I understand more things that I wished I understood when I was young. I was always pretty understand. Well, I was able to comprehend why they couldn’t buy me everything I wanted or needed but maybe because I was the oldest. My siblings couldn’t… they whined about it. I can just see my son in them. 

    He acts like a spoiled brat, self righteous … always wanting it his way. The funny thing is that he acts this way and yet he doesn’t get it all. Well sometimes. It’s hard being a single mom and bringing up a child. I have more help now. But, the child is still hard and stubborn. Many things he doesn’t understand and doesn’t want to.

     
    As parents we’re going to do what we need to give the opportunity of success. I’ve cried, been frustrated, and cried some more but I won’t stop until the message I want my son to have is embedded. He needs to know what I want him to know. He will one day understand. And that’s what keeps me going. 


    I need to know that when he has kids of his own, he will allow himself to be hated for their greater good! and for his fortune, I hop he wont be a single parent but if he was. He would understand everything even more. 

  • You feel like a failure as a mother, person when you can’t quite get your son up to reading level and the teacher is considering holding him back.

    I need advice. I read with him. Its harder for him to read but I help him. What else can I do. I sit with him everyday to do his homework. Its sometimes a min. of an hour daily … he’s in first grade. I know nothing can go wrong if he is held back my brothers were when they were in first grade but there was a language barrier. They went from a bilingual class to all English … but my son knows English. Schools were different then as well. I never remember my parents helping or being able to help me. And its so different now. I have to find ways to explain the homework so it makes sense.

    *sigh* I’m just frustrated… I know this will end up how it should but it just makes me feel like crying. I know … what a baby! What when you feel a bit overwhelmed ….