February 1, 2013

  • Advice from males and females for my 7 year old?

    Ok so we have this kitten/cat well he's about to be one year old in like may but we think he's in heat. Actually he probably is. He's been acting weird the last few days and I just couldn't figure it out but I think he just figured out the feeling of sexuality. I don't know if he's done anything, he's a cat.

    So lately the cat has been coming to our room like usual, he sleeps with my son and trying to get comfortable in my son's bed but it seems like he never gets it right because he keep clawing at my son's blankets. Well he was doing that tonight and well I had told my son after reading to get under both covers to go to sleep because he had been reading with me in mine. And the cat wasn't all to thrilled that he was losing his spot to his keeper. I went over to move the kitty and picked him up and kitty wasn't to happy.  I looked down on him (not to be a pervert) and his little penis was sticking out. He's, I guess, feeling different textures... Mmm curious cat!

    I was hoping my son didn't see it but how could he not the cat's bottom was looking straight to him by accident. Well I didn't know what I was going to see either. We've never had a big male cat.. Then after a few moments it hits my 7 yr old and he says, "Eww, was that the cat's pee pees?" and I said I wasn't sure and then he was like "Yea, it was. Was he peeing on my bed?" And I said, "No, it's fine just cover your self" I took the kitty out of the room and closed the door.

    And then my son says this...

    "When I dream and I think of Rosale my pee pees stands up too." And I looked at him in (not disbelief but more a "Did you really just  say this?") and all she says, "Really!"

    He's 7 and we've never really talked much about sexuality I mean he's freaking 7. I'm a mom. I once told my dad to speak to him but he's too old fashion. I know he's little an curious but he's already liking the feeling of touching himself. He says it tickles and he giggles.

     

    Ok, Moms what would you say? Or how would you bring it up?

     

    Ok, Guys I know nothing about the guy's reproductive organ well you know what I mean. What can I tell my son. I'm the only person my son has had until recently (I've always mainly been his mom and dad) and he's young and confines in me a lot. how can I guide him? What do I do? He's my 7 yr old baby. I'm not going to smother him but I do feel unsure. I wasn't expecting this for quite some time more. Especially the thinking about a girls makes him feel a certain way already.

     

Comments (11)

  • you should get the cat fixed or he will start spraying.

  • @buddy71 - How much does that cost? I don't have money but I do know this is a necessity!  

  • Get boyfriend to do it.

  • @pinktiger335 - i think there should be low cost spay/neuter clinics in your area. Check with your local animal control, animal shelters, pet adoption people, PETCO, petsmart stores. I think the cost would be $100 or less. I known that sounds like a lot, but it will be good for everyone in the long run. 

  • The fact that your son finds it normal to talk to you about whatever proves that all is well, really. Just let it be. As for what he said, the most basic thing to say in reply would have been: " that's a normal reaction to have."

    For the next 7 years, it'd be best to think of yourself as a mentor to him.

    As for the cat, please don't do that.

  • Ray just asked me how it is that a girl gets pregnant.... All because of his curiosity to the dog... His exact words were "mom, ok so there are mommies and daddies but you need both to make a baby? Tell me how that works, I want to understand it" .... I told him I would tell him soon but that yes both male and female are needed to produce a baby...  Just go with what you feel is right to say... There is no text book on this ..... Good luck.

  • From what you wrote, it seems he made a statement.  I agree with a previous comment.  Just say that is normal.  If he ask a question, answer it lovingly, truthfully, and simply in ways a child can understand.  I was always truthful with my children when they asked questions along these lines.  I kept in mind that answering these questions was no different than answering any other question they asked about life.  You're his mentor and he depends on you for information on how to live and survive.  You'll do fine. 

  • I think it's ok to tell him but just use the simple ways he can understand it well. Answer it truthfully, I mean no need to hide anything. Don't make him curious lol hehehe xD

  • @Rob_of_the_Sky - probably will at a later time. I still think he's discovering things and he says everything he feels to me. Sometimes it takes him a little while but I guess I should be happy he trusts me and doesn't feel embarrassed to tell me talk comes or other things maybe the both of us will. thanks =D 

    @buddy71 - You're right it does seem a little pricey but I also agree that it will be better in the long run. My son loves his cat. =D I will definitely put it on my to do list and start saving towards that. thank you! 

    @nov_way - Thanks! You're right. I'll find ways to guide him and not freak out about things he says. I'll do my best. I appreciate it. 

    And don't do what about the cat?
    @Snoog420 - haha, our kids should be in one of those "Kids, say the darnest things." lol I still wasn't expecting them to be wondering or feeling like this so young. But, I suppose kids grow us faster. I'm he doesn't even watch tv with anything like that, or he doesn't use the internet so I know that he doesn't know that that's what happens later on. But, the way he said it, he said it like he knew it was normal it happened when he thought of of a little girl. I suppose boys will be boys. And regardless our boys worry me... We're good moms but still I mean we know where their other DNA came from but he had a mood mom, the dad was the issue which is why it worries me. *sigh* we'll be ok, I pray. 
    @C_L_O_G -  Thank you, I appreciate it. =D I think I was very caught by surprised and I freaked out just a bit. BUt, you're all right. This is normal and it's bound to happen and he's a boy so I have to get use to it. This is where I think it would be easier having a little girl. I love my little boy to death and I think boys are easier but it's been me and him for forever and he's growing up I suppose it's nice he'll have a male figure to talk to as they grow to know each other better in life. My son loves my bf and I think he'll be able to confide in him as well. 
    @fabolousclown - Thank you Amalia!! =D I will do my best and try not to make him curious. He's a little boy and there's a lot of learning that comes from discovering your body. 

  • I think it would be best to say that it's a perfectly natural thing that happens to all men and boys but it's not particularly polite to discuss because it is a private matter.

  • @pinktiger335 - I'm sure your son will have a great role model and confident in your bf.  Remember, your son is a human first.  You can talk with him about anything and he can talk with you about anything.  It doesn't matter that he is male and you are female unless you think it matters.   

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *