November 21, 2012

  • You ungrateful people....

    In reality we all are very ungrateful people. We all complain about everything and how hard things are but in reality we never think about everything we do have and what other's don't have the ability to have. We are ungrateful people and don't even realize it.  

    This past weekend Johnson and I saw Maria Full of Grace and even though the movie brought so many topics into my mind like life, love related, single-motherhood, drug trafficking, immigration, coming to a country to have a baby for more opportunities, but the fact was that one thing kept coming into mind.... 

    There so many people that live in other countries and don't have the luxury to even the simple things we are so use to having nowadays like phones, toilets in the building, clothes, shoes, food, and even though we don't have jobs I'm sure you have more money not having a job then some people in some countries who do have jobs and make nothing per week and yet that covers what the family needs for supplies and food. 

    A couple weeks ago I was listening to the radio and they were bringing water awareness of sanitation around the world and how many people die around the world because they don't have proper restrooms and sanitation. I think that is one of the things we may take for granted. It actual made me remember when I was young, like 8 years ago I went to Mexico and there was no restrooms. Well actually there might be a few here and there but you had to be of money to have some. I stayed with my grandma's they didn't have any. That's the real squatting and it's no fun. 

    As bad as some house are built here there are still regulations and they're all good for living conditions. How many people in other places do not even have good living conditions. You have many people sharing the one room and other's sleeping in the kitchen dirt floor. 

    Those are a couple of things that I started thinking about and I know that some family is still affected by so it's not fake it's realistic. 

    Kids these days take schools for granted. How many kids in other countries still wishes they were able to have the education they want. I know my mom didn't have the opportunity to go to school. Hey, but she is not dumb or stupid. 

    We take for granted the fresh air, we throw away food just because we don't want it anymore. And I bet you there would be a poor kid in some other country just wishing he found that to feed himself and who knows if another sibling. 

     

     

    What have you taken for granted this year? What are you Thankful for?

     

    Count your blessings and be thankful for everything you have!!!!

     

    I'm sure you have worked hard for it but there are many people around the world who just don't have the same luck. They just happened to have been born there or just happen to not be as lucky as you. 

    Aren't we lucky we were born here? I'm sure that if we weren't we would have wanted to.... 

    Others in other countries do say that We ARE the COUNTRY of opportunities!! Even though the hard times, why do you think they think that? And how bad must they be in to think that?!?!

     

     Be grateful you have the ability to shower everyday. You have electricity and gas... running water...what else? 

    And you know what? The sad thing is that it's not only about other countries either. We have that here in the US? How about  you spread the love and help someone in need out. Times are hard for all but a little something of food here and there goes a long way. And it will make you feel better to give. Giving is the best act of love there. Love thy neighbor! 

Comments (15)

  • This is such a wonderful post! People should be thankful for what they have. They get so caught up with complaining that they don't have anything, they forget they have so much more than they realize.

    You see, before my mom died of cancer earlier this year, she always reminded me to be grateful for whatever I have. And it's not just the material things, but that I had my health, a career I enjoy, and the love of my family and friends. My mom grew up in a third world country and the stuff she experienced/witnessed would make me cry. I'm not kidding when I say we are so fortunate to live in North America.

    I try not to take anything for granted. I have pictures of my mom placed in different places so that when I looked at them, I would always remember what she taught me: to appreciate everything no matter how small. I am thankful I am surrounded by wonderful people. Life is so much sweeter with them around. 

  • I am glad that the police did not automatically throw me into jail. A lot of parolees get caught up in pre-thankgiving sweeps (including people with tickets). The police try hard to keep the streets clear of criminals.

    I am glad not to be stopped by corrupt police. Mexico has that reputation.
    I am glad that I have work that pays well. Scavenging for recyclables and farming is very hard work and it is  for little money.
    I am glad my computer and internet is working. Hurricane Sandy knocked out power and some internet. My computer could break down (it is 2007, five years is about average when it breaks down). Already my sound card is acting up.

  • I don't feel a gosh durned bit guilty for complaining and foul whining as I seek to be better yet still :D   hugs and hope you have the happiest of holidays :D

  • You are so right.  We blessed to live in this country.  Most mornings as I leave the house for the first time I literally clap and cheer because it is wonderful.  I clap to help me remember to be grateful for how fortunate I am. 

  • i do agree that we should count our blessing and be thankful for everything we have (no matter where we are)

    the same statement can be said to mane people living in so many countries actually, i believe..
    the key is just to stop looking at the more "fortunate" people, but look at those who are less fortunate, and you'd be thankful..
    i come from malaysia (though i'm currently not in the country) where some people are whining and complaining, while there are so many people from the neighbouring countries keep pouring in because they see the country as the "land of opportunities"..    i believe the same situation can be said about many other countries..   

    (of course, i do also believe that being grateful and thankful should not be mistaken with not working and pushing for improvements, especially when it is needed..  i can't say anything about other countries that i've never live in, but in the countries that i've been in, sometimes though generally it is in a good shape, but the disparities is quite bad that some people don't actually have the same opportunity as some others..   if one is pushing for reforms in that aspect, i'd not lump them with those who simply whine and being ungrateful..  )

  • True dat.  The poorest american is probably better off than the average worker in a large portion of the world.

  • @heart_leigh - Yes, it's parents who have lived in poverty and even some of us still continue to living to an extent to it but never will be the same as those who live in 3rd world countries. My parents also grew up similar to your mom but I think as I have grown older I have learned to appreciate more how my parents grew up. I am truly thankful they immigrated to the US and had us here. I can't even begin to imagine the life we would have had and the big changes. I am thankful everyday. And I am thankful for the family who still live there and who have overcome it all. 

    I don't have pictures but I still have some memories of when I went out there and I was young and seeing the struggles. Thank you for your comment. =D
    @PPhilip - It's the corruption that I hear about Mexico that has prevented me from going again and taking my son to have the opportunity to know it was like for my parents to grow up. It seems like you know what you're fortunate to have. :)  

    @godfatherofgreenbay - thank you! :)

  • @starmanjones - It's not about feeling guilty but being thankful for what you have. Any small things is more than what others have the opportunity to have, maybe even a dinner. Some people just don't have food to go around. 

    But, thank you!! Hope you have the best of the holidays this years!! 
    @C_L_O_G - That is beautiful, to be thankful everyday. I'm glad you appreciate everyday for what it is, a gift! 

    @maniacsicko - I couldn't agree more. 

    But, I also feel it's not only about just being grateful but there are ways we can't all help out the lesser fortunate. I know I, myself, don't have much but even I can spare here and there. 
    @agnophilo - In many cases I can agree to this. I mean I have seen homeless people who are not doing well at all. And it's heartbreaking. There are times when sometimes we can't do anything but the fact is that if we can if would make a big difference. We don't need to give money always. But, if we gave them food and water people would appreciate that so much more. We're bound to spend more on buying food than when we actually give money. 

  • A world poverty and violence... gee... we are to blame.

  • Excellent article. Thanks for stopping by my post. 

  • Excellent post. We take so much for granted, thanks for reminding me of what is important.

  • Excellent post.

    "I'm sure you have worked hard for it but there are many people around
    the world who just don't have the same luck. They just happened to have
    been born there or just happen to not be as lucky as you."

    There's many people on the far right of the political spectrum *cough*TheoDan*cough* that have the simpleton idea that EVERYONE can simply work hard enough and be rich. That's simply not the case. They see everything in black and white. Even in the US, not everyone has the exact same opportunities and privileges.

  • @pinktiger335 - I perhaps could've said it better.  I would rather start out homeless in america than an average worker in many countries.

    The homeless who do very poorly often are homeless to begin with because of medical or psychological issues, a lot of homeless men are veterans etc.  Aside from just scooping them up and taking care of them 24/7 or institutionalizing them there's not a lot of ways to help.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *